RWP NaPoWriMo #28

Truth Teller

I asked if I could have some cash
out of the check I was depositing.
He said I could only have the amount
available in my account.  None.

Then he asked if I was having
a good day. I said fine.
He said it was still early.

—-

Today’s prompt was to listen to things around me and let them stew for a while and make a poem out of the comments I heard, waiting for an “aha”.  It didn’t take too long to stew.  Not terribly poetic, but almost verbatim.

12 thoughts on “RWP NaPoWriMo #28

  1. I say that all the time:

    “How are you,” they ask at Starbucks.

    “I haven’t screwed anything up yet, but it’s still early.”

    They love me there. I always kill.

  2. I agree, Derrick! “I was until I came in here” would have been a perfect response! Save it for next time, Matt. Sadly, I’m sure there will be a next time …

    I like this poem because it’s forthright and honest … so real!

  3. Next time, cash the check and then immediately deposit the cash you don’t need. And when he makes a snarky asshole statement like that, just say, “Man, at least I don’t have to work at a BANK. Jesus!” and walk out.

Leave a Reply

