Extrabiblical

Cain

I fell backward,
enveloped in searing white,
the sounds of all the earth
funneled through my body
from charred brow to left heel.

Entwined with the rain,
I slept in a cloud,
each clear drop
falling through my body
as though I were not there.

I awoke and rose staggering.
The gray cloud within
carried me heedless of any wind
until I found home
and stood at the mirror studying
the dark fingerprint of God.

Cain

I fell backward,

enveloped in searing white,

the sounds of all the earth

funneled through my body

from charred brow to left heel.

Entwined with the rain,

I slept in a cloud,

each clear drop

falling through my body

as though I were not there.

I awoke and rose staggering.

The gray cloud within

carried me heedless of any wind

until I found home

and stood at the mirror studying

the dark fingerprint of God.

Leave a Reply

