Reply

A Response to Billy Collins’ “Advice to Writers”

Ants found their way to my home
without my cleaning a thing.  All remains
untouched within and without.  Scrub?  Never.
I let the crumbs fall where they may

and if the little bugger pests
come in for a bite, they can pull up a chair
and stay a while. The superfluous
surfaces in my world provide
endless fodder for ants and poems.

Also, I write in ink.  No #2
pencils, allowing a word to be erased
as if it never existed.  I scratch through
unwanted words, allowing them life

on loose leaf sheets
strewn amid a landscape of yesterday’s cast offs.
The accidents and discarded remnants
are safe here.  Imperfection
needs more recognition.

A Response to Billy Collins’ “Advice to Writers”

Ants found their way to my home

without my cleaning a thing.  All remains

untouched within and without.  Scrub?  Never.

I let the crumbs fall where they may

and if the little bugger pests

come in for a bite, they can pull up a chair

and stay a while. The superfluous

surfaces in my world provide

endless fodder for ants and poems.

Also, I write in ink.  No #2

pencils, allowing a word to be erased

as if it never existed.  I scratch through

unwanted words, allowing them life

on loose leaf sheets

strewn amid a landscape of yesterday’s cast offs.

The accidents and discarded remnants

are safe here.  Imperfection

needs more recognition.

3 thoughts on “Reply

  1. Matt,

    I’m watching with interest your website publishing approach (since I’ve been trying the same thing myself). I have to admit I’m jealous of your output, because I’ve been slowed dramatically since I joined a writers group in San Francisco. Almost ready to resume posting though, and then (he says optimistically) I’ll be posting right through to the conclusion of my novel.

    By the way, I like this poem.

    Scott

    ps. The WUTA search for a meeting place certainly seems like fodder for an epic poem.

Leave a Reply

