Wanting More

through removes

the grain
of these ancient hardwood floors
layered paint on walls
weathered entry steps
the shifting levels
of sidewalk slabs
stippled wear from rain
and countless shoes
the atmosphere, turbulent and wild
translucent blades of grass
which bend at my tread
wrought iron fence standing sentry
incised letters
and numbers cool to the touch
the accommodating earth
my own breath and bones
through spirit transoms
I call and hear no response
but the sway of the jack-in-the-pulpit

I wish the song of one turtledove

4 thoughts on “Wanting More

  1. Matt, I just discovered another poetry blog. At least I think that’s what it is. 🙂 I don’t know what she’s talking about, so I’m just assuming. Anyway, you might like it.

    Here ’tis: http://angirach.wordpress.com/2010/01/31/in-my-defense/

    come and visit me on Gloriadelia if you can stand it. I’m doing a superbowl/Saints theme and am currently targeting families with children, so the language is a little saccharin, but the message is straight-up.

    ❤ Gloris

    http://www.gloriadelia.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

