Gasbag Alert

Detecting the Insincere/Overwrought Poet

A noun is always modified
by a color not normally associated
with said noun.
Said noun is an abstract concept
which shines or takes flight,
or both.

Modifiers abound in contrary effusion.
Another noun is introduced, meant to silence
the skeptic: through sheer surprise,
or by sounding erudite, deep.

Then a continuous tossing out of random verbiage
overwhelms, like smoke bombs during a commando raid:

Silver justice wings glittering dark
avatars, solid spirit, which conjure
fleeting stars, undulant omnibus green fields
over my frothing espresso
on the wood desk in my study
[note the suggestion of thoughtful contemplation]
as I pen further banalities
which will make you believe
I am chanting something primal
from the recesses of our collective soul
shantih, shantih, shantih.
[quoting eastern, mystical sounding words helps.
It was cool when Eliot did it, not so much now,
but if it works…]

New age aspirations
are always a good hook,
or just be folksy
like me.

Detecting the Insincere/Overwrought Poet

A noun is always modified

by a color not normally associated

with said noun.

Said noun is an abstract concept

which shines or takes flight,

or both.

Modifiers abound in contrary effusion.

Another noun is introduced, meant to silence

the skeptic: through sheer surprise,

or by sounding erudite, deep.

Then a continuous tossing out of random verbiage

overwhelms, like smoke bombs during a commando raid:

Silver justice wings glittering dark

avatars, solid spirit, which conjure

fleeting stars, undulant omnibus green fields

over my frothing espresso

on the wood desk in my study

[note the suggestion of thoughtful contemplation]

as I pen further banalities

which will make you believe

I am chanting something primal

from the recesses of our collective soul

shantih, shantih, shantih.

[quoting eastern, mystical sounding words helps.

It was cool when Eliot did it, not so much now,

but if it works…]

New age aspirations

are always a good hook,

or just be folksy

like me.

One thought on “Gasbag Alert

  1. Some considered it cool when Eliot did it. I didn’t. Or at least I didn’t think it cool when I read Eliot. Many years later. I’m not that old.

    One of these days I will get over my anger that Eliot (and others of the School of Obscure Academic Poetry) are considered great poets. I blame them for destroying poetry as a popular art form.

    I’ll get off my soap box.

Leave a Reply

