RWP NaPoWriMo #1

Read Write Poem is suggesting its members write a poem a day in April, in honor of National Poetry Month.  For today they want us to write a poem including the names of the first five songs that appear on our MP3 players when on shuffle mode.  This is what I came up with.  I included an extra song.  See if you get all of them.

—-

Damn

Hey you,
Peter,
let me in.
I’m knocking
on heaven’s door
holding a gun.  I won’t
shoot anyone here,
not that I think
I could.

Heh, heh.
Damn.

That woman
did nothing
but cause me trouble…

A shuffle and pause
behind the pearly portal
and a peep-hole opens,
then shuts.

The clouds funnel
down
into a chute
and usher me
so far away
from a blue world.

I’ll spend eternity
watching people
try to play shuffleboard
with pitchforks
too hot to hold
while I oil my gun,
a victim
of love.

12 thoughts on “RWP NaPoWriMo #1

  1. ohhhh, that was good very good… loved the images as they swiftly passed by… music is everything doncha think… day one is good!!! and that last line it’s all about love isn’t it…!!?? jimi

  2. That first stanza is great! The whole thing is great but the first stanza in particular 🙂 “That woman/ did nothing/ but cause me trouble…” is great as well! I definitely know a few women like that, lol.

  3. Good luck with writing a poem a day. I won’t be able to do it every day this month(gotta see the doctor and it is quite a travel)… but I’ll write a few more than normal.

    oh yea, had a good chuckle

Leave a Reply

