RWP NaPoWriMo #3

Today’s challenge from Read Write Poem is to write a poem about what we most fear.  Wrote two.

Pastoral

I fear sunshine spread
across half the globe,
blue sky
and white clouds,
the delicate unfolding
of flowers in spring,
flutter and hop
of warbling songbirds
from limb to limb

and choosing to leave
them all to enter
an unknown dark.

Terrors

I fear my bank
and its perfect ability
to add and subtract,
set against my vague
notions of bigger
and smaller.

I fear oldies stations
will one day
all be playing rap
and the Top 40
will be something I hate
even more.

I fear Dr. Phil
telling us all
what to do
and think
and be
and everyone listening.

I fear tofu.

Pastorale

I fear sunshine spread

across half the globe,

blue sky

and white clouds,

the delicate unfolding

of flowers in spring,

flutter and hop

of warbling songbirds

from limb to limb

and choosing to leave

them all to enter

an unknown dark.

19 thoughts on “RWP NaPoWriMo #3

  1. Both very good, but the 2nd really resonates, esp the Phil reference. He is NOT a doctor, but he sure has got some ratings, eh? Be afraid. be very afraid.

  2. hello, glad i stopped by.. have i been here before… departure to the dark side… even the light takes away the dark… the description of the light is perfection in movement… and terrors dynamite!! really, seriously i had to laugh and smirk… dr phil.. oh lordy help us!!! can’t imagine music is everything and receiving no enjoyment of the sounds…. now that is true terror… thanks for stoppin by and yr comments are encouraging… it is nice to meet new folks along the way.. happy day 3… in posse

  3. Great poems. Actually, I really love the first one.

    Thanks for visiting and commenting on my posts. My husband made the same comment, so now I’m thinking of rewriting the second half.

  4. Both excellent, though I think I too have to vote for the second poem as the favorite of the pair. (That last line is just too good.) Curious where the Pastoral one came from, though…

  5. Both are wonderful. In the first, I like how you move from the peaceful and pastoral to your fear. And in the second, I share each of those fears!

  6. I fear Dr. Phil, too. Big time. Enjoyed your poems a lot. Both are clear and concise. I’ll be looking for more.

  7. I understand that thought – writing something decent. I wrote 17 poems in four days. I would say about one or two are great. The rest are decent. 😉

Leave a Reply

