NaPoWriMo #17

Helio Trope

I’ve caught the sun
on my face. Great…

As it licks its way
through flesh, I think
about how fair skinned
I’ve always been,
burning
after five minutes
on the beach.
Roast
or a ghost
speckled
with freckles,
which might look
like a tan
in about eighty years.

Then I realize
I have the worst
damn luck.

Helio Trope

I’ve caught the sun

on my face. Great.

As it licks its way

through flesh, I think

about how fair skinned

I’ve always been,

burning

after five minutes

on the beach.

Roast

or a ghost

speckled

with freckles,

which might look

like a tan

after about eighty years.

Then I realize

I have the worst

damn luck.

8 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo #17

Leave a Reply

