RWP NaPoWriMo #25

The Read Write Poem prompt for today was to use the first sentence we heard after reading the challenge.  The first sentence in the poem is what I heard, but not in the same context I use it.

Commitment

I volunteered to go to a hospital.
The blue walls and pastoral scenes
are soothing, but the nurses
wake me at odd times.  I scarce
get settled and they’re back
again to draw my blood
or ask if the tree sloths
and orangutans
are still around. I’m not sure
why they have to ask—
an orangutan is pretty damn
obvious.  And the animals
aren’t bothering me
so what’s the problem?
Now that I’m ready to leave,
these folks have other ideas.
At least I taught the mongooses
to play penny ante poker.

Commitment

I volunteered to go to a hospital.

The blue walls and pastoral scenes

are very soothing, but the nurses

wake me at odd times.  I scarce

get settled and they’re back

again to draw my blood

or ask if the tree sloths

and orangutans are still

on the walls.  They are

but aren’t bothering me

so I’m not sure

what the problem is.

Now that I’m ready to leave

they have other ideas.

At least I trained the mongoose

to play cards. I didn’t tell them

about her.  I thought

they might take her away.

13 thoughts on “RWP NaPoWriMo #25

  1. Strange, then funny, then sad. (I once volunteered to go to a hospital – seriously, but I was in a bit better shape than this)

    Your last line’s humor stops this from turning into a total downer.

  2. Well done! A funny/sad poem. Had a knee replacement last year. Once started on the pain meds, pretty sure I had similar experiences. Could have been orangutans behind the curtains.

  3. If exotic fauna is the worst there is to worry about, that’s pretty lucky. Thanks to Disney, they’ve sort of passed from respectable nightmares into temperamental fuzzies.

    There needs to be a painting of mongooses (mongeese?) playing cards.

Leave a Reply

