Think Dandelion

Unwanted

I am myself, alone.
I flower as never before
within a low mown field grown green with fear
of someone different than the expected blade.
My root sinks deep into the soil.
Cut off a hundred times
yet will I rise
an unfolding golden crown
gathered for garlands
or haloed white with age,
soon scattered by a breath.
I only wish to share the earth.

Unwanted

I am myself, alone.

I flower as never before

within a low mown field grown green with fear

of someone different than the expected blade.

My root sinks deep into the soil.

Cut off a hundred times

yet will I rise

an unfolding golden crown

gathered for garlands

or haloed white with age,

soon scattered by a breath.

I only wish to share the earth.

11 thoughts on “Think Dandelion

  1. Beautifully said and I loved your words ” I flower as never before”… nice to imagine the growing roots and flowering..
    Last line was perfect…

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Connect with me on Twitter at @VerseEveryDay to read one verse everyday on life, love and longing…

  2. In addition to your chainsaw duties, you write beautiful poetry. I have used a breath to scatter the pods of dandelion many times. I guess I’m someone different than the expected blade!

Leave a Reply

