John Muir and Me

On these hot June days
doing their faithful impersonation
of August, energy ripples
out a body,
then steam from the pond
dampens the soul,
removing every spark

as I sling corn meal to the ducks
and hay to the goats and horses,
fill water containers,
gather chicken eggs,
count the numbers
of all living things,
like Noah.

One goose on the water
does the work of many
in the sky, creating
a V that ripples
almost from shore
to shore,
on her way to dinner.

All the animals kick off
their lethargy
and scramble from under
pasture trees
toward tastier food.
Then the repast is over.

The dog remains on the porch.
He pants, stares at some distant point,
while every other creature
returns to its place of shade.

After stepping inside,
I sip a lemonade,
bless the distant hum
of the a/c unit,
gaze out the window
and write
of oneness with nature.

===
For dVerse Poets Pub Open Link Night
My dVerse poems always seem lacking to me. Oh well.

For those of you who don’t know about John Muir.

29 thoughts on “John Muir and Me

  1. The beauty and eloquence are best considered when cool. You write of it beautifully, and took me there completely with your gorgeous write. I, too, stay inside, closeted in cool and avoid the allergies and sultry heat. Excellent write as always!

  2. Pingback: John Muir and Me « thebleedingpen

  3. Fantastic! My grandfather had chickens and pigs all those many years ago…I used to love when we would get to see them come to life at feeding time…you’ve taken me back to a very fond memory with this one…Thank you

  4. The first bit, “On these hot June days
    doing their faithful impersonation
    of August”
    just hooked me completely Matt. And I was all-in until the end. Such great images!!

    Do your chores, but hurry back to the a/c and write more!!! 🙂
    ~ j

  5. man, i need a lemonade right about now…its beastly humid out here today…spent some time on a farm on saturday…lovely imagery with teh animals…and that lone goose v-ing across the water…

  6. Loving the ending. I am in total accord. My love of nature does not extend to suffering to observe her wonders. Beautiful descriptions in this, also, Matt–the geese stanza is very neat.

  7. It takes a good eye to see it & a good pen to express it – the beauty of nature, that is. I’ve always counted the number of deer I see on countryside drives, “like Noah,” I guess 🙂

  8. fabulous! i smiled all the way through because i could so relate…
    and this:
    “One goose on the water
    does the work of many
    in the sky, creating
    a V that ripples
    almost from shore
    to shore,
    on her way to dinner.”

    well, that’s a perfect poem all on its own!

  9. Super enjoyed your writing ~ I can just close my eyes & I am there ~ love your descriptions of the animals & their movements in the warm sun!
    Glad you got a reprieve by ‘stepping inside’ for a cool lemonade ~ summer time is indeed close!

  10. Love your goat pictures. Use the goatsmilk for cheese? Spin any of the wool/hair?
    And the lethargy of heat is something I haven’t experienced in about three years now. Comes across beautifully in your lines.

  11. Lovely descriptive piece…I too enjoyed the geese stanza…& I felt I was there with you, feeling the humidity and your relief at the coolness of the a/c …lovely writing

  12. So nice- full of contentment – you had me sipping that lemonade with you. Excellently expressed poetry- like a Monet!

Leave a Reply

