Iceberg

To be thought cold
and merciless when I am falling
so far and fast
I cannot speak,
even to the wind
flapping my cheeks.

I can only loose a chilling howl,
so, yes, maybe I am
cold, an iceberg,
calved from the glacier,
plunging face first
into arctic waters
where once the air currents
are done with me
the ocean currents
will surround me,
draw my body south,
and melt me.

I have nothing to do
with your warm climes
the tropical bird call
and ruffle of feathers.
What can I say
but I have nothing,
can do nothing
but fall and dissolve?

Perhaps
I will lap on your shores
as water, unaware,
when I am gone.

2 thoughts on “Iceberg

Leave a Reply

