Wonders of the Web

A cache of 1940 photographs
taken of my county,
aerial photos.

[Download]

my range, township, section,
and see the farm from above.

Woods have slowly encroached
on the fields since then.
A pasture ran from the barn
down to the creek in the grove,

crops and trees
now divide
the former bovine demesne.

[Zoom]

on a dot in the yard
to the shock
of a boy waving,
looking up
at the airplane
high above.

I look down,
wave back,
waver between
decades,
for a moment forget
my absence then
his absence now.

Father.

3 thoughts on “Wonders of the Web

  1. Wow, great. I often wonder something similar when I’m flying, what’s going on in all the “tiny” places I see from so far away. To add the dimension of time makes it even more meaningful.

Leave a Reply

