More Twitter Poems

the bones of the day
rattle down the street
all night
and I am restless
until dawn

–-
I share the woods
with everything
that runs away

–-
the wind
curves around
her absence

–-
elusive
edge of morning light
lost in gray wisps

–-
dreams
the interesting life
I can’t remember

–-
in darkness
we see the farthest
stars

–-
all the old heroes are dying
replaced by new legends
whose names
sound foreign
on my tongue

–-
I push my worries
down a flight of stairs
shut the door
and write poetry

–-
rituals of loneliness
the distance
between our words

–-
ever more forceful
our words splinter
against each other–
I mind the sharp edges
as I sweep them up

–-
all these thoughts
braid together
a ladder I climb

–-
distant friends–
eyes and ears
for the places
I’ll never go

–-
everyone
he wants to talk with
is already dead–
walking slow
through the cemetery

–-
in this digital age
I am the king
of smoke signals

–-
the creek shadowed
and frozen–
days nothing changes

–-
leaves blown
down the road–
loneliness turned sideways
pushing away those
he wishes were closer

–-
burning brush
a mouse flees
into the empty field

–-
winter grave
the backhoe doesn’t care

–-
peace
as time
unravels
in the dark

5 thoughts on “More Twitter Poems

Leave a Reply

